7 top tips when attending a singles night

I recently attended my first (and last) single and let’s mingle night out in London. Even though I am in a relationship (and not looking), my best friend is newly single and wanted to get out there and a mutual friend recommended for her to go to a singles event. Therefore for some moral support I went along to keep her company.

The night was definitely an eye opener and for someone who is not looking for a partner I noted some top tips for those sassy singletons who might want to prepare for before they go.

  1. Take friend with you – it might sound obvious but there is no way my friend (who is really confident) would have gone without me for moral support. As we spoke to some people there a lot of them turned up on their own which is also absolutely fine however it makes it easier to break the ice and to talk to others when you have someone you know there. It gives you a little bit of comfort and for you both to bounce off each other’s conversation.
  1. Play the ice breaker games – they are there for a reason. The events team who organise these events know what they are doing and know silly games like ‘rock paper scissors’ and a ‘thumb war’ can break the ice and get people talking. So don’t feel embarrassed about going up to someone and doing these mini challenges
  1. Have a joke up your sleeve and by this I don’t mean literally. When my friend and I were mingling a guy asked me to tell him a joke, I’m not usually ones for jokes but fortunately for me I was telling my other half earlier in the day a  joke I saw on Instagram

“Why did the Mexican push his wife off the cliff?”

‘TEQUILA’ (To kill her – get it!)

As silly and stupid as the joke sounds it made them chuckle and got the conversation flowing.

  1. Leave your worry at the door – it’s always tough meeting new people for the first time but you need to remember that the people you meet don’t know you and they will only go by anything you tell them so don’t be shy just talk as you usually would.
  1. Dress for the occasion – first impressions count, unfortunately we live in a society where it’s not all about personality and there should be an attraction so wear something that represents your personality
  1. Speak to as many people as you can and don’t limit yourself to those you might like the look of – get out there and talk to as many people as you can. At the start it might seem like an awkward situation but as you start talking to people it gets easier.
  1. Prep some questions before you go – I know this isn’t a job interview but it’s always good to have a few key questions in case conversation gets dry. I asked someone at the singles night what they did and they said it was a boring standard question however I think it says a lot about a person of how they answer the question. You spend over 1/3 of your day at work therefore if you can talk about your job with passion it says a lot about a person.

I hope these top tips help you however please remember no one is there to judge you. Go there have some fun and get to know people!

 

Leave a Reply

