Mildreds – A Vegan and Vegetarians dream

It has been a while since I had caught up with my friend so we decided to make dinner plans. As we are both vegetarian – and our other half’s are carnivores – we thought it would be a good opportunity to finally get ourselves to Mildreds. This had possibly been the quickest decision we had every made when deciding where to eat!

So earlier this week I made a quick dash across London to the Kings Cross branch.

Top tip – if you get coming via underground make sure you get off at the right exit! I’m pretty sure it took me 10 mins to get from one exit to the closest one to Mildreds!

This has been the first time I haven’t check TripAdvisor before I visited a restaurant as didn’t want  to taint my opinion of Midreds before I arrived!

We decided to meet at 6 as the Kings Cross branch doesn’t take bookings however as I soon as I got there I was seated quickly and the restaurant was surprisingly quite empty.

Once my friend arrived we decided we weren’t super super hungry so opt’ed for a few starters and thought we would see how we feel after that. Once the food arrived we realised 4 starters (and 4 glasses) on a table for 2 was not easy to balance, so we asked if we can have a bigger table.

Top tip – The tables are super small – so ask for a bigger table as you won’t be able to fit all the yummy food on your table.

For starters we ordered:

  • gyoza dumplings with sweet chilli sauce
  • rose harrisa hoummus, pine nuts, spicy tempeh and chargrilled flatbread
  • smashed avocado with lime, chilli and blue corn chips
  • sweet potato fries with basil mayo or chipotle ketchup

Each of these starters were absolutely scrumptious…..

Mildreds - Starters

Gyoza Dumplings, those of you who may know me know I love Gyzoa dumplings this obsession came from finding the Bloomsbury farmers market  where they have a tasty gyoza stand. So, when we ordered this dish I was intrigued if it would live up the standard that I had tasted before but rest assured it was so good! It was accompanied with a sticky soya chilli sauce which was incredible.

Rose Harissa Hummus – I would like to think I am hummus connoisseur as I LOVE Turkish and Lebanese food but this was definitely up there on my top 10 list of the best hummus. It was great to see even after not eating the chargrilled flatbread for 10 mins that it was still super soft rather than crunchy and hard,

Smashed Avocado with blue corn chips – well who doesn’t like guacamole and chips! It was really tasty and I loved that they had extra lime on the side if we needed more to taste (which it definitely did!)

Sweet potato fries – Crispy on the outside, soft on the side and sprinklings of green onions on top! Delicious!

After our starters we debated whether to get some mains however after looking at the table next to ours decided not to as the portions were huge and there was no way we would have finished a main each or even shared.

However I was super sneaky and earlier in the day I had a look at the dessert menu and was itching to try out a dessert to curb my sweet tooth!

We both decided to order a dessert each and share which was possibly the best decision I have ever made!

We ordered:

  • passion fruit crème caramel with ginger snap and passion fruit compote
  • poached peaches with fresh raspberries, vanilla ice cream, laced with peach schnapps and a shortbread biscuit

Mildreds - Pudding

They were both so yummy and the presentation of each one was so inviting that we demolished the desserts within 5 minutes!

Overall a great catch up, delicious food and quirky surroundings!

Would I go back? 100%

****

Average price per person – £22

Location: Camden, Kings Cross and Soho

Website: http://www.mildreds.co.uk/

 

 

Leave a Reply

